August 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
Mutual funds, SIPs, foreign investment, bonds and trading activity retain their own official release dates.
Investor participation
79.75 million accounts were active under SEBI’s 12-month definition, or 33.6% of the total.
August 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Securities and Exchange Board of India and National Securities Depository, India Dispatch Research
Fund flows
Equity funds recorded net inflows of ₹342.1 billion ($3.57 billion). Year-to-date comparisons cover the same months in each year.
| Category | Latest month | Previous month | MoM | 2026 YTD | Last year | 5 years ago | AUM |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equity | ₹342.1 billion$3.57 billion | ₹422.1 billion$4.41 billion | −19.0% | ₹2.8 trillion$29 billion | ₹2.5 trillion$25.9 billion | ₹666.1 billion$6.95 billion | ₹48.3 trillion$505 billion |
| SIP contributions | ₹319.6 billion$3.34 billion | ₹317.8 billion$3.32 billion | +0.6% | ₹2.2 trillion$22.8 billion | ₹1.9 trillion$19.6 billion | ₹600 billion$6.26 billion | Not reported |
| Other equity flows | −₹72.6 billion−$758 million | −₹28.1 billion−$293 million | Outflow widened | −₹132.7 billion−$1.38 billion | ₹162.7 billion$1.7 billion | −₹225.8 billion−$2.36 billion | Not reported |
| ETFs | ₹95.1 billion$993 million | ₹132.4 billion$1.38 billion | −28.1% | ₹721.8 billion$7.53 billion | ₹444.4 billion$4.64 billion | ₹291.9 billion$3.05 billion | ₹10 trillion$104 billion |
| Debt | ₹1.9 trillion$19.6 billion | −₹1.1 trillion−$11.4 billion | Swung to inflow | ₹509.5 billion$5.32 billion | ₹2.3 trillion$23.8 billion | ₹494.5 billion$5.16 billion | ₹19.3 trillion$202 billion |
| Short duration | ₹1.9 trillion$19.9 billion | −₹972.7 billion−$10.2 billion | Swung to inflow | ₹1.2 trillion$12.9 billion | ₹2.1 trillion$22.2 billion | ₹407.9 billion$4.26 billion | ₹14.9 trillion$156 billion |
| Medium and long duration | −₹29.5 billion−$308 million | −₹116.9 billion−$1.22 billion | Outflow narrowed | −₹717.3 billion−$7.49 billion | ₹157.3 billion$1.64 billion | ₹88.1 billion$919 million | ₹4.4 trillion$45.6 billion |
| Arbitrage | ₹65 billion$679 million | ₹58 billion$605 million | +12.1% | ₹131.5 billion$1.37 billion | ₹554 billion$5.78 billion | ₹491.1 billion$5.12 billion | ₹2.9 trillion$30.4 billion |
| Balanced and multi-asset | ₹49.9 billion$521 million | ₹70.9 billion$740 million | −29.7% | ₹551.6 billion$5.76 billion | ₹383.4 billion$4 billion | ₹106.5 billion$1.11 billion | ₹8.8 trillion$91.4 billion |
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Association of Mutual Funds in India, India Dispatch Research
Gold and silver funds
Gold ETFs recorded net inflows of ₹15.6 billion ($163 million). Silver ETFs recorded net inflows of ₹12.8 billion ($134 million).
₹ and USD
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Association of Mutual Funds in India, India Dispatch Research
Discretionary equity flows
The estimate equals net flows into equity-oriented funds less industry-wide SIP contributions. The corresponding dollar value is $758 million.
−₹72.6 billion · −$758 million · 2.2%
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Association of Mutual Funds in India and National Stock Exchange, India Dispatch Research
Detailed data: Recurring fund contributions
SIP churn
SIPs are standing monthly contributions into mutual funds. The comparison uses registrations and discontinuations through June 2026.
June 2026
SIP assets were ₹17.7 trillion ($185 billion) at the end of June 2026.
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Association of Mutual Funds in India, India Dispatch Research
Equity-market activity
That net purchase equals $3.96 billion. Net is purchases less sales in the cash market.
| Category | Buy | Sell | Net |
|---|---|---|---|
| Banks | ₹61.9 billion$646 million | ₹56.1 billion$586 million | ₹5.8 billion$60.6 million |
| Insurance companies | ₹457.9 billion$4.78 billion | ₹471.1 billion$4.92 billion | −₹13.2 billion−$138 million |
| Mutual funds | ₹2.5 trillion$25.6 billion | ₹2.1 trillion$21.6 billion | ₹379.8 billion$3.96 billion |
| AIFs | ₹122.2 billion$1.28 billion | ₹134.8 billion$1.41 billion | −₹12.5 billion−$131 million |
| PMS | ₹189.1 billion$1.97 billion | ₹181.1 billion$1.89 billion | ₹8 billion$83.9 million |
| Foreign institutional investors | ₹3.7 trillion$39 billion | ₹3.6 trillion$38 billion | ₹100.4 billion$1.05 billion |
| Retail | ₹9.3 trillion$96.8 billion | ₹9.3 trillion$97.3 billion | −₹44.8 billion−$467 million |
| Others | ₹8.8 trillion$92.2 billion | ₹9.3 trillion$96.6 billion | −₹423.5 billion−$4.42 billion |
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Stock Exchange, India Dispatch Research
Foreign investment
The equity move equals $3.09 billion. The debt move equals $152 million. The chart uses complete months reported by NSDL.
₹ and USD
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Securities Depository, India Dispatch Research
Foreign equity by sector
₹104.9 billion ($1.1 billion) moved into financial services, while −₹49.8 billion (−$520 million) left telecommunication.
August 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
| Sector | Monthly flow | Equity AUC |
|---|---|---|
| Financial Services | ₹104.9 billion$1.1 billion | ₹21.2 trillion$221 billion |
| Consumer Services | ₹84.2 billion$878 million | ₹3 trillion$30.9 billion |
| Healthcare | ₹59.3 billion$619 million | ₹5.4 trillion$56.9 billion |
| Information Technology | ₹41 billion$428 million | ₹4 trillion$41.8 billion |
| Consumer Durables | ₹39 billion$407 million | ₹2 trillion$21 billion |
| Automobile and Auto Components | ₹31.1 billion$324 million | ₹5.5 trillion$57.2 billion |
data.indiadispatch.com
| Sector | Monthly flow | Equity AUC |
|---|---|---|
| Telecommunication | −₹49.8 billion−$520 million | ₹3.5 trillion$36.3 billion |
| Fast Moving Consumer Goods | −₹19.2 billion−$200 million | ₹2.9 trillion$30.3 billion |
| Oil, Gas & Consumable Fuels | −₹17.6 billion−$184 million | ₹4.6 trillion$47.7 billion |
| Power | −₹15.5 billion−$162 million | ₹2.5 trillion$25.8 billion |
| Realty | −₹5.9 billion−$62 million | ₹1.2 trillion$12.8 billion |
| Others | −₹4.5 billion−$46.9 million | ₹655.9 billion$6.85 billion |
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Securities Depository, India Dispatch Research
Equity derivatives
August 2026
Share of long and short contracts reported in NSE’s daily participant files. NSE publishes clients as one group, so retail and corporate activity are not split here.
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Stock Exchange, India Dispatch Research
Bond ownership
The Fully Accessible Route, or FAR, identifies central-government bonds foreign investors can buy without aggregate investment limits. The comparison is against July 2026.
August 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
vs July 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Securities Depository and Clearing Corporation of India, India Dispatch Research
Bond maturities
Each bar is rebuilt from CCIL’s security-level holdings. Years to maturity are calculated from the bond’s stated maturity year.
As of 26 September 2026
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: National Securities Depository and Clearing Corporation of India, India Dispatch Research
Bond supply
Holdings are reconstructed from RBI’s fiscal year-end ownership shares and the outstanding stock of central-government dated securities.
Share of net government bond supply
Flows are the change in each investor group’s holdings between fiscal year ends. The denominator is the change in total central-government dated securities outstanding.
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Reserve Bank of India, India Dispatch Research
Pension capital
That is $19.7 billion, or 3.3 times ₹563.2 billion in August 2023. The National Pension System is India’s government-regulated, market-linked retirement system.
₹1.88 trillion · $19.7 billion
The chart shows assets held at month-end. It does not treat changes in market value as investment flows.
data.indiadispatch.com
Source: Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority, India Dispatch Research